2018-2019 Catalog

Excellence in Teaching Award

“A teacher affects eternity; one can never tell where [their] influence stops.” ~Henry Brooks Adams

Each year, Western Piedmont Foundation honors a member of Western Piedmont Community College’s full-time curriculum faculty, nominated by his or her own peers and students, for dedication to the teaching profession. Selection criteria recognize extraordinary efforts as a teacher; service to the profession, WPCC and the community; involvement with present and former students, and evidence of innovative or special efforts in teaching.


1986 Ruby H. Pharr Biology
1987 D. Odell Witherspoon Mathematics
1988 Tommy J. Hardy Criminal Justice
1989 Raymond K. Miller Mechanical Drafting
1990 Lois Dechent Nursing
1991 Robert E. Benner Physical Education
1992 Raymond B. Goodfellow Fine Arts
1993 Ralph G. Soney Social Sciences
1994 Kathy Scott Business Administration
1995 Debra Rose English
1996 Ronald Caplette Business Administration/Economics
1997 Mary Charlotte Safford Social Sciences
1998 Paul D. Wardzinski English
1999 Cindy S. Konarski Therapeutic Recreation
2000 Warren H. Bumgarner Machining
2001 Robert R. Dockery Horticulture
2002 Louise White English
2003 Daniel K. Dixon, Jr. Criminal Justice
2004 Linda Wright Nursing
2005 Nadine McGrady Chemistry/Earth Sciences
2006 Cheryl L. Oxford Performing Arts
2007 Tonya L. Waters Accounting
2008 H. Rosanna Hartley Computer Information/Web Technologies
2009 David C. Benner Physical Education
2010 Neal R. Bevans Paralegal/Criminal Justice
2011 D. Danette Steelman-Bridges Interpreter Education
2012 Michael C. Spath Biology
2013 Star P. Brown Accounting
2014         Thomas W. Frost Mathematics
2015 Randolph C. Harrison Psychology
2016             Jonathan Crumpler         Digital Effects & Animation and Simulated Game Development
2017 Rachel Bradshaw Medical Assisting